Skip Nav
Home » About Us » Awards

Accellera Systems Initiative Awards Programs


Accellera Technical Excellence Award

Congratulations Justin Refice, Recipient of the 2015 Technical Excellence Award!

Justin Refice, a member of the Universal Verification Methodology Working Group (UVM WG), is the recipient of the fourth annual Accellera Technical Excellence Award. The award is being presented at the Design and Verification Conference and Exhibition (DVCon) on Monday, March 2, 2015 during the Accellera Day luncheon from 12:00-1:30pm at the DoubleTree Hotel in San Jose, California. The award recognizes the outstanding achievements Mr. Refice has made to the organization's UVM standardization efforts, including his significant contributions to the development of UVM 1.2, which improves interoperability and reduces the cost of IP development and reuse for each new project. 

About the Technical Excellence Award

Accellera Systems Initiative wishes to recognize the outstanding achievements of its Working Group members by selecting outstanding contributors to our standards development process as recipients of the Accellera Systems Initiative Technical Excellence Award.

This annual award recognizes major contributions to the development of Accellera standards. Examples of such contributions may include leadership in standardization of new technologies, assuring achievement of standards development goals, and identifying opportunities to better serve the needs of the community through standards.


Any member of an Accellera Working Group is eligible for the award.

Candidates can be nominated by Working Group chairs and are endorsed and selected by participants of the Accellera Technical Excellence Award Committee, which is a subcommittee of the Technical Committee.

Nominations must include the following information:

  • The candidate's name, email address, and affiliation
  • Brief description of the specific achievements that justify the award (supporting documents are optional)
  • Why those achievements are important to the industry
  • Your name, email address, and affiliation

Nominations are now closed for 2015. For more information about our awards programs, contact us.

Past Recipients

Andrew Goodrich

Andrew Goodrich received the 2014 Technical Excellence Award for outstanding contribution made to the organization's SystemC standardization effort, including acting as chief developer of the SystemC Proof-of-Concept (PoC) simulator that has advanced the field of electronic system level (ESL) design. The award was being presented at the Design & Verification Conference and Exhibition (DVCon) on Accellera Systems Initiative Day, March 3, 2014.

Read more >


Janick BergeronJanick Bergeron was recipient of the 2013 Technical Excellence Award. Janick was recognized during the Accellera luncheon at the Design & Verification Conference and Exhibition on February 25, 2013 for his outstanding achievements made to the Universal Verification Methodology standardization effort and the many technical advancements he has brought to the field of functional verification methodology.

Read more >


John Aynsley Receives 2012 Accellera Systems Initiative Technical Excellence AwardJohn Aynsley, a member of the IEEE SystemC Standard Language Working Group, was the recipient of the first annual Technical Excellence Award in 2012 for his contribution to the full span of the SystemC language. He was presented the award by Karen Pieper at the Design & Verification Conference and Exhibition on February 27, 2012.

Read more >


Accellera Leadership Award

Congratulations Yatin Trivedi, Recipient of the 2014 Accellera Leadership Award!

Yatin Trivedi, 2014 Accellera Leadership Award Recipient

Yatin Trivedi will receive the 2014 Accellera Leadership Award in recognition of his leadership, organizational and financial vision, and service to the standards industry.

Mr. Trivedi has been in engineering, marketing and management roles in the semiconductor industry for 30 years. As the Treasurer since 2008, Yatin has grown Accellera into a financially strong organization with 35 members and over 20 standards. His financial acumen paved the way for strategic relationships with The SPIRIT Consortium and the Open SystemC Initiative (OSCI), which resulted in the formation of Accellera Systems Initiative in 2010. Most recently Yatin helped bring the assets of the Open Core Protocol International Partnership (OCP-IP) under the organization’s umbrella.

Read more >


About the Accellera Leadership Award

The 2014 Accellera Leadership Award is given to an individual who has provided active leadership andcontributed significantly in the vision of EDA and IP standards development activities and the governance of Accellera Systems Initiative (and/or its precedent organizations). A nominee should have served on the Board of Directors, held leadership positions, and played a key role in the evolution of Accellera Systems Initiative.

Nominations are accepted from members of Accellera Systems Initiative. Endorsement from at least 2 additional member companies is required in support of the nomination. Self-nomination is acceptable. Nominations should include the candidate’s name, affiliation, and qualifications. The recipient is recognized at the Accellera breakfast at the Design Automation Conference.

Nominations for the 2014 award are now closed. This years' recipient will be recognized at the Accellera breakfast at the Design Automation Conference on Tuesday, June 3, 2014.

For more information about our awards programs, contact us.

Past Recipients

Stan Krolikoski, Recipient of the 2013 Accellera Leadership Award

Dr. Stan Krolikoski was recognized in 2013 for his significant impact on the EDA industry both within Accellera and in its predecessor organizations. He has served as an officer of several standards initiatives for over 25 years. These include the VHDL Users’ Group / VHDL International (VI), Open Verilog International (OVI), Analog VHDL International, Accellera, Open SystemC Initiative (OSCI), and The SPIRIT Consortium.

Read more >



Dennis Brophy, Recipient of the 2012 Accellera Systems Initiative Leadership Award

Dennis Brophy, one of the longest serving volunteers in the standards community, was the recipient of the 2012 Leadership Award for his significant contribution to the standards community and to the EDA industry. He was presented the award at the 2012 Design & Verification Conference.

Read more >